Community Manager Appreciation Day 12 Hour #cmgrhangout #CMAD

197 Flares 197 Flares ×

Community Manager Appreciation Day Hangout
We’ve been working long and hard since this idea hatched about 11 days ago. We’re fortunate to be partnering with the HootSuite community team and have amassed so many amazing community minded folks from around the world to join us for 12 hours of Google Hangouts on Monday, January 28, Community Manager Appreciation Day!

Each hour will feature a topic and invited guests only. Everyone is invited to watch and tweet along with us all day! Just use the #CMAD and #cmgrhangout hashtags.

CMAD Around The World

View video and speaker bios. video

A look at community management from around the world, how the role of a community manager differs and what celebrations are happening or have happened.

  1. “ichi” – Hiroyasu Ichikawa (Japan) @socialcompany
  2. Ileana Rossello, HootSuite (Italy) @Lana_ES
  3. Jose Albis, (Colombia, Canada) @josealbis
  4. Nico Ibieta, PuntoCero (Chile) @nicoibieta
  5. Jean-Yves Lemesle, Doctissimo (France) @jyv
  6. Kimberly McCabe, Sitecore (England) @kimberlymccabe
  7. Fred Felton, FalconCove (South Africa) @fredfelton

Forums and Moderation

View video and speaker bios. video

Community Management can encompass many skill sets. Managing forums and moderation comes with unique challenges and issues. Hear from some of the leaders in this space on how they have successfully navigated these.

  1. Patrick O’Keefe, iFroggy Network @ifroggy
  2. Tia Fisher, eModeration @emoderation
  3. Blaise Grimes-Viort, eModeration  @blaisegv
  4. Ashley Cooksley, eModeration  @emodashley
  5. Wendy Christie, eModeration  @emodwendy

Marketing & Advertising Agencies

View video and speaker bios. video

Working for clients means each community you manage may have different goals and certainly communities. What analytics and measurements are important. Who does the community manager report to in their organization. Join community managers from Edelman Digital and R/GA to learn from them.

  1. Suzanne Marlatt, Edelman Digital @applegirl
  2. Nick Lucido, Edelman Digital @nicklucido
  3. Katy McGarr, Edelman Digital @kateymcgarr
  4. Jonha Revesencio, Leo Burnett (IKEA) @jonharules
  5. Tina Yip, R/GA @tina_yip
  6. Katie Felten, Community Builder at Translator @KatieFelten
  7. Cynthia Thomas, Co-Founder and Oracle of UX at Translator @deziner
  8. Brandon Hill, Co-Founder at BTC Revolutions @speaktothegeek

The Various Communities Of Google

View video and speaker bios. video

Chances are you’ve used a Google product. It may be GMail, Google Voice, search, AdWords, Android, Calendar, Google+, Google Hangouts, YouTube… How do managing these communities differ within an organization and how do they work together.

  1. Amy Korin, Midwest Regional Community Manager Lead, Google+ Local @GoogleLocalCHI
  2. Van Riper, Google Developers @vanriper
  3. Amy Higgins, Google+ Local SF  @amywhiggins

The Social Media Higher Education Landscape

View video and speaker bios. video

Of course you cherish your college days. Nothing says community quite like the bond between you and your alma mater. Learn communities role higher education from recruiting to curriculum.

  1. Kelly Lux, Syracuse University iSchool  @KellyLux
  2. Autumn Reynolds, Kellogg School of Management @AutumnMcRey
  3. Cara Rousseau, Duke University @cararousseau
  4. Ma’ayan Plaut, Oberlin College  @plautmaayan
  5. Taylor Loren, HootSuite University  @taylohoots
  6. Michael Blonde, Business Development Manager, HSU  @michaelblonde
  7. Howard Greenstein, New York University @howardgr

Social Business with The Community Roundtable

View video and speaker bios. video

The Community Roundtable brings together leaders in the digital space to discuss the emerging role of the community manager and how the position is being best utilized to create measurable business results.

  1. Leanne Chase, The Community Roundtable @LeanneCLC / @TheCR
  2. Rachel Happe, The Community Roundtable @RHappe
  3. Hillary Boucher, The CR @HillaryBoucher
  4. Cindy Meltzer, Social Media Consultant @cindymeltz
  5. Chris Catania, Walgreens @chriscatania
  6. Caty Kobe, GetSatisfaction @catykobe
  7. Ashley Brookes, HootSuite Enterprise @ashjbee
  8. Jeremiah Owyang, Altimeter Group @jowyang

Content Curation

View video and speaker bios. video

Content is often at the forefront of the community managers responsibilities. We invite some of the most innovative and respected names in content to discuss tips and best practices for curating content.

  1. Nick Kellett, List.ly  @nickkellett
  2. Guillaume Decugis, Scoop.it @gdecugis
  3. Ally Greer, Scoop.it @allygreer
  4. Julianna Payson, InMotion Hosting  @JulianaPayson
  5. June Macon, Mack Web Solutions @JuneMaconSocial
  6. Jewel Fryer, Social Media Farm @jewelfry

Internal Communities with Yammer

View video and speaker bios. video

Yammer is a leading name when it comes to internal private communities in enterprise business. Join Maria Ogneva at Yammer as she talks with the people who run internal communities at various organizations. If you are interested in internal, private communities or enterprise community management, you won’t want to miss this!

  1. Maria Ogneva, Yammer @themaria
  2. Ashley Gross, Rural Sourcing, Inc. @ashleygross
  3. Dawn Gartin, Manhattan Associates @dawngartin
  4. Katy Stevens, Yammer @katyste
  5. Steve Nguyen, Yammer @espnguyen
  6. Matt Jensen, Yammer @mjensen
  7. Bryony Cole, Yammer @bryonycole
  8. Matt Ontell, Yammer @mattontell

How To Build Community Within Different Departments

View video and speaker bios. video

Silos. Is the community manager the answer to bringing them down, or is it more realistic to understand how to navigate within them? Some of the best at navigating the silos will share their secrets on how to use the power of community across your company.

  1. Kemp Edmonds, Enterprise at HootSuite @kempedmonds
  2. Kristine Naldoza, HR at HootSuite @KNaldoza
  3. Sabrina Lavin, HR at Hoot Suite
  4. Allie Russell, HSU/Marketing at HootSuite @allierus
  5. Sarah Chambers, Support at HootSuite @sarahleeyoga
  6. Kristina Cisnero, Social Media Coach at HootSuite @K_Cisnero
  7. Vicky Trong,  Social Media Coach
  8. Jenn Emerson, Community Manager at Telligent @JennTelligent
  9. Amy Muller, Co-founder & Director of Community Education at GetSatisfaction @AmyGSFN
  10. Rosemary O’Neill, Co-founder & President of Social Strata @rhogroupee

Where Social Meets Media

View video and speaker bios. video

Managing communities within a media publication presents a unique challenge – somewhat different from those of your traditional community management team. Publications deal with tons of traffic, and thus have to continuously moderate ‘fires,’ comments, among other things. Learn from some of the industries brightest community managers.

  1. Meg Peters, Mashable @petersmeg
  2. Mike Fraietta, Formerly Newscorp  @mikefraietta
  3. Annemarie Dooling, The Huffington Post  @travelinganna

Hospitality and Entertainment

View video and speaker bios. video

  1. Max Crowley, Community Manager at Uber Technologies @maxjcrowley
  2. Jon Morter, Big Other @jonmorter
  3. Kyle Harty, Visit Philly @kyleharty
  4. Caroline Bean, Visit Philly @visitphilly
  5. Trish Fontanilla, Community Manager at Vsnap @trishofthetrade

Social Media For Social Good

View video and speaker bios. video

  1. Carter Gibson, LittleBigFund @CarterGee
  2. Lea Marino, Memorial Sloan-Kettering / Cycle for Survival @LvM
  3. Ambrosia Humphrey, SingitFwd @hambrody
  4. Amanda Hite, BTC Revolutions (No Kid Hungry) @sexythinker 
  5. Harrison Kratz, Operation: Social Santa @kratzpr
  6. Nicole Rohr, WYCC PBS Chicago @rohrrr

Tim McDonald

Director of Community at The Huffington Post
I build communities, not networks, through building individual relationships that create movements.

Latest posts by Tim McDonald (see all)

197 Flares Twitter 89 Facebook 70 Google+ 16 LinkedIn 10 Buffer 12 197 Flares ×
5 comments
fbradley
fbradley

I'm based in Europe and won't be able to attend some of the later sessions.  Are they being recorded?

fbradley
fbradley

I'm based in EMEA and won't be able to attend the later sessions.  Are they being recorded?

davidchris1
davidchris1

I think this is a great initiative Tim. One thing - this event would be beneficial across the pond too (I have asked my team to attend). It would be really helpful for non-USA based people if you could add in the times for Europe (CET would do) as well. After all social is global ;-)   Looking forward to the event....good luck!

sherrierohde
sherrierohde

@fbradley Yes, they will all be available on YouTube. Just follow the links from each segment. :)

sherrierohde
sherrierohde

@davidchris1 Good call David! I'll add those in now. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry…

  2. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry…

  3. [...] should be a fun day as My Community Manager hosts a 12-hour Google Plus hangout full of great topics and discussions that focus on the elements of community [...]

  4. [...] can see all the topics, guests and hangouts preserved in the aspic of YouTube by following this link, but here’s the [...]

  5. [...] events included a 12 hour Google Hangout, I watched a few hours, learned from global CMs, see [...]

  6. Wrapup: Community Manager Day 2013, Trended | Affaholic.com says:

    [...] events included a 12 hour Google Hangout, I watched a few hours, learned from global CMs, see [...]

  7. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry…

  8. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry. It’s Community Manager Appreciation Day – a special day created by industry analyst Jeremiah Owyang to bring attention to the emergi…

  9. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry. It’s Community Manager Appreciation Day – a special day created by industry analyst Jeremiah Owyang to bring attention to the emergi…

  10. Show Your Community Manager Some Love Jan. 28…

    On Jan. 28, you’ll have a chance to express that appreciation, along with the entire social industry…

197 Flares Twitter 89 Facebook 70 Google+ 16 LinkedIn 10 Buffer 12 197 Flares ×